Saturday : September 30, 2023 - 10.05 am

  1. Utama
  2. »
  3. Main Services
  4. »
  6. »



APEC is an organization established in 1989 to establish greater economic cooperation in the Asia Pacific region. This organization came into force on March 1, 1999.

The APEC Business Travel Card is an initiative of the APEC Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation in an effort to help businessmen who frequently deal with APEC countries.

There are 21 countries involved in the organization
Australia United States of America Brunei
Canada Chile China
Hong Kong (China) Indonesia Japan
Korea Malaysia Mexico
New Zealand Papua New Guinea Peru
Rusia Philippines Singapore
Taiwan Thailand Vietnam

Only 19 countries including Malaysia provide the following facilities:

  1. APEC card replaces VISA (countries that require a VISA and have their participation in APEC do not require a VISA)
  2. Provide APEC Lane or Special Route (Premier Lane) at the main entrances by air or land of each country to enjoy a faster and smoother movement process.

Currently, Canada and the United States have not yet fully joined the scheme. However, both countries provide PREMIER LANE facilities for the purpose of faster and smoother movement.

The following countries provide the following facilities:

  • AUS-Australia
  • BRN-Brunei
  • CHL-Chile
  • CHN-China
  • HKG-Hong Kong
  • IDN-Indonesia
  • JPN-Japan
  • KOR-Korea
  • MYS-Malaysia
  • MEX-Mexico
  • NZL-New Zealand
  • PNG-Papua New Guinea
  • PER-Peru
  • RUS-Rusia
  • PHL-Philippines
  • SGP-Singapore
  • TWN-Taiwan
  • THA-Thailand
  • VNM-Vietnam

APEC Business Travel Card Privileges

This card helps to save time and cost for businessmen in meeting visa requirements and entry requirements as well as enjoying the Special Routes of APEC countries.

Holder information and details are shared with all participating countries to obtain pre-clearance status or VISA approval before the card is issued.

The validity of the APEC card is five (5) years subject to the validity period of the passport.

These cardholders are given the convenience of APEC routes or Special Routes at the main entrances of the countries concerned.

In Malaysia, the main entrances that provide the premier lane or APEC route are as follows:

“PREMIERE LANE” or APEC Main Route can be found as follows:

  • Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA)
  • Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA 2)
  • Penang International Airport
  • Sultan Iskandar Complex, Johor Bharu
  • Sultan Abu Bakar Building (Second Link), Gelang Patah, Johor

This card indirectly promotes trade and businesses relation between the participating countries.

To qualify for the APEC Business Travel Card, the applicant must be actively involved in business that requires them to frequently commute to the countries concerned.

Pre-Clearances or approval by the participating countries will be channeled through the ABTC System to Immigration Department of Malaysia.

Skip to content